Mayor & City Council

Five city council members standing behind dais

Regular Meetings

  • 6:30 p.m.
  • 1st, 2nd and 4th Tuesdays of every month
  • Council Chamber
    1950 Parkside Drive
    Concord, CA 94519

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Video Broadcasts

The public is encouraged to participate in the City's decision-making process and is invited to attend City Council meetings or view them on Concord TV; available on Comcast Channel 28, Wave Channel 29, and U-verse Channel 99. 


Mayor Dominic Aliano
Vice Mayor Laura Hoffmeister
Councilmember Edi Birsan
Councilmember Tim McGallian
Councilmember Carlyn Obringer


As its governing body, Concord's City Council is comprised of five elected members, each for four-year terms. The City Council also serves as the Board of Directors of the Concord/Pleasant Hill Health Care District (CPPHCD), and the Board of the Local Reuse Authority. Items considered by these bodies are done so on regular City Council Agendas.

Concord is among more than 300 cities in California operating under the Council-Manager form of government. The Council hires the City Manager, who is then responsible for all management functions of the City, including preparation of the budget, delivery of services, hiring of personnel, and implementation of capital projects. The City Council also directly hires the City Attorney who serves as the City's primary legal advisor.

Council Standing Committees

There are currently five standing City Council Committees, each of which is made up of two Councilmembers. The committees meet monthly and make recommendations to the City Council for action on items they have considered.

The Mayor makes new committee assignments following the reorganization of the City Council at the end of the calendar year. Committee members serve one-year terms. Committee agendas are available on the City's website.

City Committees

Housing and Economic DevelopmentMcGallian/Aliano 
Infrastructure and FranchiseHoffmeister/Obringer
Policy Development and Internal OperationsAliano/Hoffmeister 
Recreation, Cultural Affairs and Community ServicesObringer/Birsan
Youth and EducationBirsan/McGallian

External Committees

Councilmembers are appointed by the City Council or other governing bodies to regional committees that are addressing issues that affect the Concord community. Read full descriptions of each committee's mission. 

External AppointmentsMember/Alternate
Association of Bay Area Governments General Assembly (ABAG)Aliano/McGallian
Central Contra Costa Transit Authority (The County Connection)Hoffmeister/Obringer
Citizen Corps Community Emergency Response Team (CERT)Obringer/Birsan
League of California Cities Board of Directors (East Bay Division)McGallian/Birsan
Marin Clean Energy BoardBirsan/Obringer
Transportation Partnership and Cooperation Regional Committee (TRANSPAC)McGallian/Obringer

Other AppointmentsAppointing EntityMember
Contra Costa County Mayors Conference Executive Committee
Contra Costa Mayors Conference

Contra Costa Countywide Redevelopment Successor Agency Oversight Board

Contra Costa Mayors Conference
Hoffmeister (alternate)
East Bay Economic Development Alliance Executive Committee
Contra Costa Mayors Conference
East Bay Regional Parks District Advisory Committee
Contra Costa Mayors Conference
Hazardous Materials Commission
Contra Costa Mayors Conference
Birsan (alternate)
Local Agency Formation Commission
Contra Costa Mayors Conference
Birsan (alternate)