FEMA Issuance of Digital Flood Insurance Rate Maps (DFIRMs)

Changes in the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) designation of flood-prone areas include the addition of Special Flood Hazard Areas (SFHAs), or floodplains, along the northern portion of the Walnut Creek channel in Concord. Property owners in flood-prone areas who have federally back mortgages were required to have flood insurance when the maps became final, on June 16, 2009. If flood insurance is purchased before the new maps are finalized, the insurance rate will be calculated at the current lower (non-flood prone area) rates, which is a significant savings. Renters may also purchase flood insurance if they wish.

  1. Outreach Materials
  2. Grandfathering Rule
  3. Levee Systems
  4. Additional Information